King’s honours for Derbyshire residents

Posted by: Belinda Hargreaves

Tue 2nd January 2024

More than 1,200 recipients – including a number in Derbyshire – have been awarded in the King’s Honours New Year 2024 list for their exceptional achievements.
Individuals have been recognised for being dedicated community champions, role models in sport, pioneers in the arts, passionate health workers, and supporters of young people.
A spokesman for the Government said: “The Prime Minister is committed to ensuring that honours are awarded to people across the whole of the UK, so that the honours system captures and celebrates the fantastic contribution of people throughout the country.
“Anyone can nominate someone for an honour. If you know someone who has achieved fantastic things worthy of recognition, go to to find out more about how you can put them forward.”
Prime Minister Rishi Sunak said: “The New Year Honours List recognises the exceptional achievements of people across the country and those who have shown the highest commitment to selflessness and compassion.
“To all honourees, you are the pride of this country and an inspiration to us all.”
Deputy Prime Minister, Rt Hon. Oliver Dowden CBE MP, said: “This year’s New Year Honours List celebrates the most selfless, compassionate people in the UK. I send them all my warmest congratulations for what they have achieved.
“Our historic honours system exists to recognise these people and shine a light on their heroic contributions and achievements.
“I hope that the inspiring stories from across the whole of the UK encourage more people to nominate others for an honour in future.”

Here is the list of recipients from Derbyshire:

Order of the British Empire Dames and Knights Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire
The Rt Hon Dame Margaret Mary BECKETT DBE MP: Member of Parliament for Derby South. For Parliamentary, Political and Public Service. (Derbyshire).

Order of the British Empire Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire
Dianne Michèle JEFFREY CBE DL: Lately Trustee and Founder Chair, Age International. For services to Older People Abroad and to the community in Derbyshire. (Hope Valley, Derbyshire).

Officers of the Order of the British Empire – OBE
Martin John RIGLEY MBE: Lately Managing Director, Lindhurst Engineering Ltd. For services to the East Midlands Covid-19 Response and to the community in Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire. (Sutton-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire).
Ralph William James RIMMER: Lately Chief Executive Officer, Rugby Football League. For services to Rugby League Football (Glossop, Derbyshire).
Margaret Ann THROUP MP: Member of Parliament for Erewash. For Political and Public Service.

Members of the Order of the British Empire – MBE
Sarah Elizabeth ARMITAGE: Chair of Trustees, Embark Federation. For services to Education (Ilkeston, Derbyshire).
Fiona Ann LINDOP: Specialist Physiotherapist in Parkinson’s Disease, University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Physiotherapy. (Belper, Derbyshire).
Patricia Mary PRITCHARD: For services to Childcare and Early Years. (Derby, Derbyshire).

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire – BEM
Christopher ALLEN: For services to the community in Chesterfield, Derbyshire. (Chesterfield, Derbyshire).
Robert David COTTERILL: For services to Business and to the community in Derbyshire. (Chesterfield, Derbyshire).
Howard Mansell WILLIAMS: For services to the Royal British Legion and to the community in Spondon, Derbyshire. (Derby, Derbyshire).

To see the full list of New Year’s Honours 2024 recipients, go to here

Photo from the website

Read more about how to nominate an unsung hero for an honour here