New committee elected for male voice choir

Posted by: Belinda Hargreaves

Fri 23rd February 2024

A new committee has been elected for a male voice choir in Derbyshire.
Alfreton Male Voice Choir held their Annual General Meeting recently at Palmer Morewood Social Club, Alfreton, when a new committee was elected for 2024.
A spokesman for the choir said of the meeting: “Reports were received from 2023 officers: Chairman Mike Mullarkey, treasurer Dave Smith, secretary John Stamp, Music Director Terry Clay
and Librarian Tony Hopkins.
“Tenor Tom Walden was elected Chairman along with Mike Mullarkey as Vice, Dave Smith treasurer, Ken Levasseur Secretary, and Chris Bowley, Mike Bradshaw, John Tate and Peter Worrall as member representatives. Christine Walden was co-opted as minutes secretary along with Tony Hopkins as Librarian.
“Honorary Presidents Reverend Derrick Hesketh, Stan Green and Colin Thornton were elected to continue, while Kevin Looney was agreed as financial auditor.”
They continued: “Chairman Tom welcomed the committee and thanked outgoing Chairman Mike Mullarkey and Secretary John Stamp for their work in past years.”

Pictured, from the left: Dave Smith, Christine Walden, Chris Bowley, Tom Walden, Mike Mullarkey, Mike Bradshaw, John Tate, and Ken Levasseur.

To read more Spirit of Alfreton articles about Alfreton Male Voice Choir go to here

To keep up to date with the choir go to here

What’s been happening in your community? Email our Editor Belinda at or upload your story and accompanying photo(s) direct to our website here