Alfreton Town Council. Mayor of Alfreton

Owner of Alfreton House Tearooms becomes new Mayor of Alfreton

Posted by: Laura Hammond

Thu 18th May 2023

The new Mayor of Alfreton will be a familiar face to many people in the town – she’s the owner of Alfreton House Tearooms.

Councillor Hannah Jowett-Frost takes over the role from Councillor John Walker, who has been Mayor of Alfreton six times since he was elected to the town council in 1991.

She has selected Callum’s Voice, which supports children and young people with autism and mental health needs, as her charity for her in office.

A number of other key elections were made at a meeting of Alfreton Town Council on Tuesday (May 16) night.

Councillor David Taylor has been elected as Deputy Mayor of Alfreton.

Councillor Mary Kerry was elected as leader of Alfreton Town Council while Councillor Scott Walker was chosen as deputy leader.

All four councillors were re-elected to the town council in this month’s local elections.

Share your news updates, information and event details on the Spirit of Alfreton via Tell Us Your News.